Contact Close

Offering an alternative vision of education since 1881

St Cuthbert's - Catholic High School

A Catholic education for boys of all faiths and none

Offering an alternative vision of education since 1881

Meet the Staff

Meet the Staff

St Cuthbert’s Catholic High School’s team of over 80 teachers and support staff work collaboratively with the boys and their families to create the school community.

Ours is a community where each member is valued, nurtured and supported so that they can experience excellence every day.

Committed, conscientious and considered, our staff ensure that our holistic curriculum is delivered alongside an inclusive, robust and engaging co-curricular curriculum in which our boys are prepared for the challenges of life in the world of the 21st century.

As a community we balance tradition and innovation, we are inspired by the past, but readily embracing the future above we strive to help our boys to become better men.

Meet the Headmaster

Our Staff

Leadership Team

Mr D MurrayHeadmaster
Mrs R GundlachDeputy Head Curriculum
Mr D SwindellsDeputy Head Pastoral
Mrs J WestwoodDeputy Head: Pastoral
Miss J BlackieAssistant Head Safeguarding and Welfare
Mr R CollinsonAssistant Head SENCO
Mr K StuartAssistant Head Curriculum
Mr M TurnerAssistant Head: Head of Sixth Form 
Mr P BurrowsAssistant Head Teaching and Learning
Miss H SmithBusiness Manager
Mrs L AndersonOffice Manager / PA to the Headmaster


Mr S WarnerHead of Department
Miss L Cook
Mrs S Devin
Mr T Hedley
Mr D Miller


Mr D ManfrediHead of Department
Mr A Edmond
Mr D Scott
Mrs A Williamson

Business Studies

 Head of Department
Miss J Blackie
Mrs G Tomlinson


Dr R Bulmer         Head of Department
Ms A Brownlee
Dr M Hartness (Head of Science)
Mr A Macintosh

Computer Science

Mrs T PineHead of Department
Mr I Bolam
Mrs S Carter

Design Technology

Miss M AlexanderHead of Department
Mr P Mitchell
Mrs G Rohade
Miss K Whitfield


Mr D StewartHead of Department

Mr P Burrows
Miss R Cunningham
Mrs L Foley
Miss J Langton
Miss E Mann
Miss B Pearson
Mr A Thain
Mr J Wardell
Mr M Willis


Miss K JenkinsonHead of Department

Miss A Charlton
Mr L Colligan
Mr R Collinson
Miss H Elliott
Miss B Jensen


Mrs K CaseyHead of Department

Mr A Cameron
Mr M Quinn
Mr A Ruscoe
Mrs A Vasey


Mr D CullenHead of Department

Mr M Akhondzadeh
Mr S Fisher
Mr A Francis
Mr C Giles
Mr J Higgins
Miss L Mallaburn
Mr J Murray
Ms Y Meng-Birkett
Miss A Shaw
Mr D Shuttleworth
Mr K Stuart

Ms J Wood


Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs M SummersideHead of Department
Miss P Chignac
Mr D English
Ms Y Meng-Birkett
Miss C Totain
Mr M Wilkinson


Mr I AndersonHead of Department
Mr A Proudlock

Physical Education

Mr W Hogg         Head of Department
Mr D Adams
Mr B Glendinning
Mr S Cheema
Mr M Turner
Mr A Middlemiss
Mr T Wright


Mr C ScottHead of Department
Mrs H Ashman
Mrs H Forster
Mr M Herold

Religious Education

Miss S PeacockHead of Department

Miss E Donovan
Miss M Furness
Mr D Graham
Mrs R Gundlach
Miss D Kirk

Mr D Swindells
Mrs C Watson


find out more

Work With Us

{h4 title}

Admissions Process

{h4 title}

Contact Us

{h4 title}


{h4 title}

0191 274 4510

St Cuthbert’s Catholic High School, Gretna Rd, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE15 7PX

Bishop Bewick

Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust

St Cuthbert’s Catholic High School is a proud member of the Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust. The Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust is a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales. Company Registration No. 7841435.


0191 274 4510

St Cuthbert’s Catholic High School, Gretna Rd, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE15 7PX